Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join NASFA
Site Search
2014 Innovations Award Program
Share |


2014 Innovations Award Program

Be Recognized at the National Conference in San Antonio, Texas and have your conference expenses paid. The National Conference is June 7-10, 2014.


Innovations Award Program
The NASFA Innovations Award was established in 1993 and recognizes outstanding achievement by a state facility organization for establishing an innovative new program or improving an existing program. The program is intended to enhance efficiency and effectiveness in state government. The Innovations Award is granted to the submission that demonstrates significant improvements to a program or service under the direction of a State Facility Administrator. The best solution is one that is: adopted and integrated into the submitting State’s program, provides significant measurable factors which impact the organization and is something that others in State Government may learn from or adopt for use in their own State. Innovation does not have to involve costly investments or new technologies. Innovation is simply a change in process or thinking that improves the effectiveness and performance of the outcome.

The winner(s) of the NASFA Innovations Award is recognized at an awards banquet during the National Conference & Resource Expo. The award winner is presented with a plaque, and one representative from the winner program will be reimbursed for travel, accommodations and one complimentary state registration. Winning programs are highlighted on NASFA’s Web site.

Recognizing the Winners
The winner will be recognized during the NASFA National Conference Awards Banquet on Monday, June 9, 2014. The conference will be held June 7-10, 2014 at the Westin Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio, Texas. More information about the conference will be posted soon. The 2014 award winner is presented with a plaque, and one representative from the overall winning program will be reimbursed for travel, accommodations and one state registration. The winning program will be highlighted on the association's Web site at

Program Submissions (New, Existing & Resubmitting)
Programs should demonstrate significant creativity in solution development illustrating new methods, devices or customs advancing facilities management in state government. All innovative programs are welcome, whether it is a brand new program or it has been in existence for several years. A program may have been created and undergone revisions over the years and remains innovative and beneficial to other States.

If your State submitted a program in the past two years (2012 & 2013) and were not recognized as a winner or honorable mention, your program will automatically be placed among this year’s submissions. However, if you wish to update your information and resubmit please contact NASFA by February 7th and the updated program must be submitted by the deadline of February 28th, 2014. Your program could be this year's winner.


• Must be a state government program either newly created or improved.

• Must be a program in effect for at least six months with measurable results.

• Must be a program that can be utilized by other states.

• Must be a NASFA state dues paying member to be considered for an award, however non-member programs
     will be considered this year.

Scoring will be determined in accordance with the following criteria:

40 Points: Program delivered a defined dollar savings and/or efficiency for the customer and/or
                    the taxpayers.
25 Points: Program relates to similar areas of responsibility in other states and could improve situation
                    in other states.
25 Points: Program goals and objective, scope and content clearly defined, and the results have been
                    effective in achieving its goals and objectives.
10 Points: Program description is complete and follows submission format.
100 Total Points


Categories & Sample Program Areas
The program should enhance efficiency and effectiveness in one or more of the following facilities related categories. On the application, you will be asked to specify the category your program best fits. Below are sample program areas you could address. Feel free to submit programs outside of these areas.


Design & Construction
AE Selection
Building Information Modeling (BIM)
Capitol Program Funding
Construction Management
Project Design
Space Utilization

Operations & Maintenance
Custodial Services
Customer/Tenant Service
Energy Conservation
Environmental Solutions
Grounds Maintenance
Performance Standards
Preventive Maintenance
Utility Management
Wastewater Treatment

Real Estate Management
Alternative Funding
Facility Assessment Surveys
Lease to Own
Leasing of Real Property
Master Planning
Property Acquisition
Right of Way Management
Sale & Purchasing of Real Property

Submission Requirements

The submission should include a one-page summary of the program and include reasoning for the program's design, its goals/objectives, and strategies taken to achieve the program's success. Do not send supporting documents. For each of the following questions, provide a narrative answer and include supporting financial and service delivery data as appropriate. When answering the questions below, you are limited to three pages, double-spaced, 12 point font, on 8 ½ x 11 inch paper. The three-page limit does not include the one-page summary. The deadline is February 28, 2014.

  1. What problem(s) is the program addressing?
  2. When was the program implemented, and is it still operational?
  3. How does the program result in dollar savings and/or efficiency for customers? For the owner agency?
  4. Is the program cost-effective? Be specific to benefits and costs and include start-up and annual costs and efficiency.
  5. Who are the beneficiaries of the program?
  6. What is the feasibility of the program being used by other states?

Click here for a printable document with the questions and cover page.


Sample Submissions & Recent Submission History
We've provided you with some sample submissions from recent winning submissions. Click the program title below to see the submission.

2013 Winner: Georgia Building Authority - Building Access Management Project
2012 Winner: Kentucky - Commonwealth Energy Management & Control System
2011 Winner: Kentucky - Chiller Procurement Using Life-Cycle Costing

Click here
for a list of submissions since 2007. Keep in mind, those submissions from 2012 and 2013 that weren't recognized as a winner will automatically be placed among this year’s submissions.


Email Submissions
Submissions must be received electronically via e-mail to NASFA at or


If you have questions, feel free to contact the NASFA Staff at or Marcia Stone,, 859-244-8181.

Sign In
Sign In securely